05-09-2011 - Surfen, Nieuws

Asher Nolan wint de trials van de Quiksilver Pro New York

Met de laatste wildcard voor de Quiksilver Pro in New York in zicht startte gisteren de trials. Na een aantal spannende heats wist Asher Nolan de concurrentie ver achter zich te laten.

“I knew it was going to be really difficult today because of the conditions,” vertelt Nolan na de final heat. “The 15 other surfers (in the trials) were really good surfers too. I was just taking it one heat at a time, I wasn’t thinking about winning the wildcard.”

“I’m excited to come to NY. I’m ready to hang out with my friends, surf, go to the city, have a good time, so it’s really a win-win situation no matter what.”

“I knew I could surf these waves. I’ve done well here before. I don’t compete as much as I used to, but I know that I can do it. This is awesome.”

[youtube id=”SdPkWOD9btY” w=”615″]

De heats voor het hood evenement zijn als volgt ingedeeld:

H1: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA), Travis Logie (SAfr – replacement for injured Jordy Smith)
H2: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Dane Reynolds (USA), Gabe Kling (USA)
H3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Patrick Gudauskas (USA), Fred Patacchia (HAW)
H4: Owen Wright (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRZ), Bobby Martinez (USA)
H5: Mick Fanning (AUS), Heitor Alves (BRZ), Asher Nolan (USA)
H6: Kelly Slater (USA), Daniel Ross (AUS), Balaram Stack (USA)
H7: Adrian Buchan (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRZ), Cory Lopez (USA – replacement for injured Dusty Payne)
H8: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Chris Davidson (AUS), CJ Hobgood (USA)
H9: Michel Bourez (PYF), Raoni Monteiro (BRZ), Adam Melling (AUS)
H10: Damien Hobgood (USA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT)
H11: Adriano De Souza (BRZ), Josh Kerr (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS)
H12: Julian Wilson (AUS), Kieren Perrow (AUS), Taylor Knox (USA)

Check www.quiksilverpro.com voor meer informatie en de webcast.